Our People

Rodel Staff and Partners

The Rodel Institute is operated by a dedicated staff of six talented employees who work alongside expert partners, Board of Directors, and faculty moderators to execute its groundbreaking programming.


President and Chief Executive Officer 

Vice President and Chief Operating Officer 

Executive Director, Rodel Fellowship 

Director of Logistics

Deputy Director, Rodel Federal Executive Fellowship

Administrative and Program Coordinator

Institutional Partners

The Rodel Institute works with many external partners to develop exceptional intellectual and leadership resources for our fellows including:

Board of Directors

Bill Budinger

Co-Founder, Rodel Foundation

Don Budinger

Co-Founder, Rodel Foundation

Susan Budinger

Co-Founder, Rodel Foundation and Chair of Board of Directors

Steve Bullock

Trustee, Claremont McKenna College and Former Governor of Montana (2013 – 2020)

Heather Carter

Executive Vice President, Greater Phoenix Leadership and Former Arizona State Senator (2011 – 2021)

Rob McKenna

Partner, Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP and Former Attorney General of Washington (2005 – 2013)

Ian Solomon

Dean, Frank Batten School of Leadership and Public Policy, University of Virginia

Jamie Woodson

Trustee, University of Tennessee and Former Tennessee Senate Speaker Pro Tempore (2005 – 2011)

Faculty Moderators

Sterling Professor of Law and Political Science, Yale Law School

Former Senior Advisor to the National Security Advisor, National Security Council

Director, Political Research, Pew Research Center

Olivier Nomellini Senior Fellow, Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies, Stanford University

Sesquicentennial Professor of Law, University of Richmond School of Law

Professor, National Defense University

Professor of History and Journalism and Media Studies, Rutgers University

Professor of Law, Washington University School of Law

Belfer Senior Lecturer in International Security, Harvard Kennedy School

Associate Professor of Political Science, University of Notre Dame

Anthony W. and Lulu C. Wang Professor of Law, Cornell Law School

President and Chief Executive Officer, Kansas Leadership Center

Dean and Professor of Law, University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law

President and Chief Executive Officer, Kansas Health Foundation

James B. McClatchy Professor of Law, Stanford Law School

Former Judge, United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit

Bruce R. Kuniholm Distinguished Professor of History and Public Policy, Duke University

Assistant Professor of Law, Southern Illinois University School of Law

Dean and Professor of Practice of Public Policy, Frank Batten School of Leadership and Public Policy, University of Virginia

Edward Rood Eminent Scholar Chair and Professor of Law, University of Florida Levin College of Law

Learn more

About Rodel