Edwards Book Award Shortlist Announced

The Rodel Institute is pleased to announce the shortlist finalists for its inaugural Edwards Book Award. The Edwards Book Award is an annual prize recognizing books that make an outstanding contribution to the understanding and practice of democracy and American politics. The prize carries an honorarium of $10,000. The winner will be announced in October 2023 and will deliver the keynote address at the Rodel Fellowship Reunion in Washington, D.C. that month.

The winning book is chosen by a committee that includes past Rodel Fellows and outside academic advisors. This year’s award committee is chaired by former Charlottesville, VA Mayor Mike Signer and former TN State Senator Jamie Woodson, with former OH Senate President Larry Obhof and former Dallas School Board Member Miguel Solis serving as committee members. The committee’s academic advisors are Ian Solomon, Dean of UVA’s Frank Batten School of Leadership and Public Policy, and Jennifer Siegel, the Bruce R. Kuniholm Distinguished Professor of History and Public Policy at Duke University. Rodel staff members John Kroger and Lizzy McCourt Noonan also serve as members of the award committee.

The award is named in honor of former congressman Mickey Edwards. Mickey has inspired generations of American public servants and students as a member of Congress; faculty member at Harvard, Princeton, and American Universities; author of highly respected books on the American political process; and founding executive director of the Rodel Fellowship, the nation’s premier bipartisan leadership development program for elected leaders.

The Rodel Institute received a large volume of excellent book nominations. The following three nonfiction books published in 2022 were selected as shortlist finalists.


2023 Shortlist

The Founding of Modern States
Cambridge University Press
Richard F. Bensel

Liberalism and Its Discontents
Farrar, Straus, Giroux
Francis Fukuyama

New Democracy: The Creation of the Modern American State
Harvard University Press
William J. Novak